Awe

We hear People say , That Art moved me, and at times we hear – I couldn’t move!!
Trance like experiences happen to religious people in churches and temples, or to nature lovers, or to scientists going crazy over Dinosaurs. Or a musician practicing his octave, or to music lovers crying over it.

Although in my minds eye, I have been overwhelmed with ‘Thinking man'( Auguste Rodin) and the ‘Pieta'( Michelangelo, Vatican city) but it happened when I first laid eyes on the Duomo in Milan. Grotesquely shocking, the ivory tips merging into the waxen sky, I had to sit on a bench to recover, feeling dizzy and exhausted, at one point thinking I might pass out. I didn’t want to take my eyes away, till it was time to leave; thoughts tumbled, I felt I needed an alone corner aside to write maybe. The reserved time came up much later that night, but I couldn’t put my thoughts to pen, the roving mind wouldn’t settle.

Milan-Cathedral
The condition was first described in 1979 by the Italian psychiatrist, Gaziella Magherini, after studying more than 100 cases among visitors to the Uffizi in Florence. A concentration of particularly beautiful art can cause rapid heartbeat, dizziness, confusion and even hallucinations. It’s named after the 19th century French author, Stendhal, who described the experience in his 1817 book, Rome, Naples, and Florence: A Journey from Milan to Reggio.

I have also experienced similar feelings while having certain poetry read aloud.

Leave a comment

Filed under Latest Story, Me & My Art, The making of Me

Leave a Reply

