Shackles

What place is this
That beckons me to let go
To be as I wish to be
Unrestrained by the shackles of norm
Answerable only to myself

Here the clouds gather heavy
The wind has stilled itself
The leaves shake no more
But the birds continue to call out
Telling me that the clouds are only passing by
That I should continue lying down
Under the open sky

But why?
Why should I choose you
Over all else
To unshackle my restraints
When that which I yearn for
Has taken another form                                                                                                                             And there is none worthy anymore

v-doodleContributing poet, and friend Vilochan

Leave a comment

Filed under Latest Story, Poetry

Leave a Reply

